What’s that you’re calling “old”?

Suffice it to say I’m a bit behind with the WordPress blogging challenge this month, but am probably not the only one and I’ll not beat myself up about it.  The objective was discovery, learning, activity, and that’s begun as I’ve discovered new blogs and bloggers, new designs, new ideas, and a community I’d no idea existed. It’s helping me learn things I’ve needed to know about how this platform works.  Success, even if I stopped today.  The good thing is the learning won’t be lost or wasted and the lessons are available to revisit in coming months.  Besides, a spiritual mentor of mine taught us we don’t have to get it all, only what we personally need in the moment.

Much more important for me today is my deepened sense of what this blog is really about.  It’s fundamental purpose is to change perspectives, viewpoints, paradigms, elevate thought above the stereotypical and mundane, spiritualize thought if you will.  It’s important because the story of life has shown how changing our beliefs changes our experience.  Which leads to today’s post.

One of my current favs is Nicole Curtis on HGTV’s Rehab Addict.  Have been watching for a couple of seasons as she’s become a cultural phenomena.  They say the camera adds ten pounds but this “petite blonde with the flowing mane and telegenic smile” can’t be much bigger than a minute, though she has a life force that could bulldoze an entire house and charm you in the process!  She’s a home rehabber whose tag line says she “restores old homes to their former glory.”  Where most see weathered and beaten down she sees “glory” much as I image sculptors see an elegant form inside a stone slab.  It’s always in the perspective.

That sense clicked in recently watching a new HGTV special following Olympic figure skater, Brian Boitano as he restores a family home discovered on vacation in northern Italy.  In one episode the word, old popped up regarding some artifact on the property, and possibly also to some of his Italian relatives!  Immediately a light went on in my head, staring at all the beautiful finishings and furniture for the new home.  They stood out even by Italian standards, especially since this rehab was done on a very modest budget.   So when that word popped up, my thought was, “Excuse me, you’re calling that ‘old'”?  All of a sudden I saw how derogatory that word is.  Run down, used up, useless, valueless.  Boitano had already talked about his passion of connecting to the memories tied to the house and his relatives who’d lived there through this restoration.  All the fond memories he could feel in the atmosphere.  I thought, that’s not “old” it’s richness, wealth, refinement, pricelessness!

Throughout the series he takes “old” things and restores and transforms them to current glory, beauty, splendor.   He doesn’t trash them and buy new.  I highly recommend checking out the special, even if just to admire the town of Favale di Malvaro!

This focus on perspective is particularly meaningful to me as I find myself surrounded by so many who use that term to describe themselves as well as others based on how many years they’ve sojourned on this planet, as if their experience now lost any value or meaning.   It totally dismisses the continuing benefit of all the love and nurturing expressed, blessings imparted, and the inspiration and wisdom continuing on with future generations.  We hold such a view of ourselves while revering “vintage” paintings, autos, gems, you name it.  Why wouldn’t that same reverence apply to each of us, supposedly the most extraordinary creatures on earth?   These thoughts are coming on the heels of my earlier post about our attachment to things, money for one.  So, a person is still worth less than bullion once a certain amount of “time” has passed.

I’m on permanent alert now to replace the term “old” with something more truthful, real, insightful, uplifting, spiritual if you will, like ripe, refined, mellowed, elegant, timeless.   Like a good black dress, a juicy ripe pear, a good wine, or mellowed cheese.

More on this to come.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Aside | This entry was posted in Blogs I like!, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

