Greeting the day!

Welcome Morning
There is joy
in all:
in the hair I brush each morning,
in the Cannon towel, newly washed,
that I rub my body with each morning,
in the chapel of eggs I cook
each morning,
in the outcry from the kettle
that heats my coffee
each morning,
in the spoon and the chair
that cry “hello there, Anne”
each morning,
in the godhead of the table
that I set my silver, plate, cup upon
each morning.
All this is God,
right here in my pea-green house
each morning
and I mean,
though often forget,
to give thanks,
to faint down by the kitchen table
in a prayer of rejoicing
as the holy birds at the kitchen window
peck into their marriage of seeds.
So while I think of it,
let me paint a thank-you on my palm
for this God, this laughter of the morning,
lest it go unspoken.
The Joy that isn’t shared, I’ve heard,
dies young.
~ Anne Sexton ~
(The Awful Rowing Toward God)

This poem was in my email today, a reminder of the ritual I’ve endeavored to practice, but failing woefully so far.  I note that “meaning to” part in Sexton’s poem, meaning to, but not quite getting there.   For it dawns in me more deeply the degree of presence of the Divine, of Spirit.  It’s everywhere, and All!  And we take it so for granted, I take it too for granted, looking for something else, something more than what’s in front of me.  When all that’s really necessary is simply to enjoy!

It reminds me of what a colleague from Australia shared with me about her mother’s morning ritual to help ease out of bed.  She’d be lulled out of sleep by this nurturing woman sitting on the edge of the bed with a cup of tea for her!  Can you imagine!

Many reading that will immediately respond with the proverbial issue of time which seems to govern this age.  At least here in America.  I wonder about the rest of the globe.

Good morning sunshine!  In my youth, my mother would be busy yanking the sheets out from under me to get into the washer on her day off, Saturday.  And tea wasn’t a big thing in our house.

But grace of some sort can be.  Even if there’s no one to bring us tea, nor anyone needing to be nudged out of bed in our house, I realize there is Someone here, there greeting us. Life itself!  I can at least do better at remembering that and take time to sit with my own cup of tea, or juice and take stock of all the glorious things around to celebrate, like the bed, the glass, the juice, the roof, the floor, the sky, the grass.   Even the snow when these days there are some who need rain.

I shall begin again tomorrow morning to resume my morning ritual, at least say,”Hello morning, glad to see you!”

This entry was posted in Blogs I like!, Inspirations, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

