Secret no more

Writing 101, DAY FIVE

Assignment:

(You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.  Be brief.)

Marta dear,

I wish I could make you understand.  I didn’t mean it that way, you’re making a terrible mistake.  We can work this out,  fix it,  don’t run off and ruin things for all of us.  I admit I made a mistake, it was my fault, I got carried away.

We’ve come too far to let something like this stop us now.  You know everything will be lost without you.  This thing isn’t as bad as it seems, don’t panic.  Think what’s at stake, don’t just think about yourself.

What are you afraid of?  How can I help, make you understand, make it up to you?  We’ll get through this, you’ll see.

You know I’m here for you,

Jake

 

So read the letter in hurried script on a thin piece of stained paper that fell from the book I randomly pulled down from the shelf in Miriam’s library.

It was dated August of 1951.

Miriam’s mother had disappeared around that time.  No one ever talks about it, least of all her father, Carl.

This entry was posted in Blogs I like!, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

