Patience, perseverance, perspective

WRITING 101 CHALLENGE, continued.

This is turning out to be a true challenge, definitely pushing one out of any semblance of a comfort zone.  I’m not a fiction writer so I’m grateful even to have something flow from the keys whether it works or not!

This assignment (no longer in order, catching up) is:

A man and a woman walk through the park together, holding hands. They pass an old woman sitting on a bench. The old woman is knitting a small, red sweater. The man begins to cry. Write this scene.

Today’s twist: write the scene from three different points of view: from the perspective of the man, then the woman, and finally the old woman.

HE’S THINKING:

“Why do I keep letting her talk me into this? I know what she wants, I know she thinks that by getting me away, outside in the sun, with the mountains I love off in the distance, that she can convince me to change my mind about this and try one more time.

We’ve been over it a zillion times and I’m no closer to changing than I was a year ago. I can’t do it.  What’s it going to take to convince her? I’ve tried to explain, what’s so hard to understand, I can’t go through this again. The pain is more than I can bear. Sometimes when I let myself think about it, it feels like something dark and heavy is grabbing hold of me, choking the life out of me. Why does she want to put me through that again, watching her disappointment every time we come up empty-handed, with rejection, and then having to deal with her dejection for weeks on end?

No more, I’m used up.

So, what’s the argument this time, what does she think she can say now that will make it better? What could happen that would make it all OK?”

 

SHE’S THINKING:

“This has been so hard on David. It’s been hard on me as well of course, but for some reason I think it hurts him more and that makes it harder for me. He so wants this for me and I so want him to be happy, want him to have some success at something after taking all this on. I want to help him get over all the loss but nothing I do seems to work, he won’t come out of that funk, he won’t get over it, keep hoping, believing. Every little setback feels like an avalanche just fell on us. You’d think he was dealing with this all by himself, that it’s happening only to him and no one else in the whole wide world. Times like this I wonder what makes me love him so much when it can be such a downer dealing with him. But I know why I love him, he’s the most wonderful man in the world and he’s sacrificed so much, just for me.”

 

THE “OTHER” WOMAN SPEAKS:

“The Agency called to say Anna was taking David out for a walk this afternoon, pulling him away from his work where he stays buried, avoiding people, he feels so responsible for all that’s happened, or didn’t happen, as if he deliberately caused it. I know he did the best he could under the circumstances. I know how hard he tried. Sometimes we have to wait. I’ve had to learn that so many times all these years, while things kept getting worse.

But this, this is a special day, the most blessed day in my life!  Who would have believed I’d be sitting here in this beautiful place, in this wonderful country, after all these years, all these years of delay and tragedy, losing everything, my beloved Alex, and then my son, and our farm.  I was so happy when they came and told me I could finally come, I was free to come to America, to be with my granddaughter and her beloved David, and help welcome my new great grand-baby!”

This entry was posted in Blogs I like!, Inspirations, lovingkindness, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

