Nowhere to go but within

   More words to live:     DISCOVERY,    JOY,    STILLNESS

The universe always has a better plan for our life than the one we imagine or can “create” in our little minds.  How absurd when you think about it, that we can or even should do it by ourselves.  The task is to learn to listen, be receptive.   Doing that helped me emigrate to a new country with which I had no real familiarity, no contacts, no money, no anything, not even a plan.  But after resigning a posh job in New York City, following the inner voice, I had a new job, permanent residency in my adopted country, community, great friends, and a place to live.

All within a week!

Problem was my lack of conscious understanding at that age what had happened and my need to cultivate it, develop a disciplined practice of listening to the Divine.  So, in the excitement of my new adventure, I stopped.  Started listening to other people instead.  Left paradise.  But all roads do eventually lead to Rome they say.  I suspect though that if we consciously choose to go up higher, learn to listen to the Voice within, our real Self, and choose to have and be the very best, not just settle for whatever comes along, that we can shorten as well as even out that journey.  And what will come will be more than we could have dreamed.

It takes first accepting we’re made and meant to be whole, happy, free.  Not just rich and famous.   And we’ll realize that in making space, deliberately creating time for stillness, quietness, receptivity.   The quotes below point to that, along with this wonderful video I love.   It’s been around for a while so may you have seen it but it’s worth revisiting.

“The key, at least for me, has been to let go.  Let go of the ego, let go of attachments, let go of who I think I should be, who others think I should be.  And as I do that, the real me emerges, far far better than the Kamal I projected to the world.  There is a strength in this vulnerability that cannot be described, only experienced.”       Kamal Ravikant

“The greatest thing in the world is to know how to belong to ourselves.”     Montaigne

“What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.”               Henry S. Haskins (or Emerson, or Thoreau, or Holmes!)

“The kingdom of God is within you.”     Jesus

“… I heard I had a seat inside myself to occupy
often times, it’s vacant
as if I misplaced it
while wandering outside
like getting lost in time
I leave behind
my self for a concept
my health for a construct
wealth of wellness and stillness to stay stuck.”

from Looking for our souls,  Tanya Davis

 

This entry was posted in Inspirations, Life changes, Life coaching, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nowhere to go but within

  1. litadoolan says:

    Brilliant post. So profound and practical.

  2. Lilia says:

    Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.

    It’s always helpful to read articles from other authors and use something from other websites.

Leave a Reply

